Four years ago…

Four years ago, these were my blog posts.

Four years ago, I had just resigned from Westside Family Church a few weeks prior because of much turmoil among the student staff. I left, what I thought then, was my dream job. Even looking back now, It was a pretty amazing job, and I’d do it again. But under the circumstances, I knew God was moving me away from it. I didn’t have a job when I resigned. The economy had just crashed. I had just graduated that may and had $20,000+ in student loans.

Four years ago, during the last presidential election, I found myself as a Barista-in-training at Starbucks (since I had just quit my Westside job). Lines were out the door to get free coffee for voting that day and I was just trying to keep up with the coffee demand. I had just finished up my first one-on-one interview at Pleasant Valley Baptist Church for a possible part-time Communications Assistant position and was waiting to hear back about a possible group interview.

My life was completely flipped upside down and uprooted during the last presidential election. I felt like a tumbleweed blowing in the wind. Did God see me? Couldn’t he vindicate me and see the injustices done to me? Did God have a plan, or had he fallen asleep on me?

Those days were pretty dark. Pretty cold. Pretty lonely.

This morning, after voting, Brian and I decided to get coffee from Starbucks. It sparked this entire thought process (hence, this blog post). I looked over and saw a husband who loves me. I didn’t even know him at that time. I was heading to a job that had turned FULL-TIME that I LOVE. An actual graphic designer position, not an assistant position, that I couldn’t have snagged on my own in a million years, doing something that I am skilled, educated and passionate about. It truly IS a dream job. We just moved into our first rental house, just outside of the city, where we have a yard and a mailbox and a porch light. A place to call our own. I have less than $5,000 left in school loans, thanks to my amazing husband.

I don’t know what the next four years will look like, or where our country will be, or who will lead us as our president. But after all of these memories have flooded back, I’ve realized that it really doesn’t matter. God, in his absolute sovereignty, will provide, protect and guide me for the next four years…and for every year that I live.

Sure, our country is facing some scary times. Sure, my life faces some scary possibilities. Sure, I still have struggles and hang-ups. Sure, there will be stressful days at work. Sure, I will lose friends along the way.

But GOD is a GOOD GOD. And He is working ALL THINGS for the GOOD of us who love Him and are called according to His purposes!

I am confident that no matter what my life looks like in another four years, God will be faithfully guiding me, protecting me, providing for me and holding my hand every step of the way.

5 thoughts on “Four years ago…

  1. Wonderful post. Thanks for sharing this – similar changes in four years here, though not as drastic. Dream job and overall good vibe – ready to see what the next four years will hold. 🙂

  2. Wonderful reminder of where we are at vs. where He plans on us being. I have gone back and forth on the political issues, leaving many conversations frustrated by the unknown. But there is one thing that remains the same, regardless of the turn out at the polls, and that is that God is the one working all things together for the good. If my voting, actions, decisions are made with the intent of following His will, then I need not fear the outcome, because my trust will be in Him.

  3. Good stuff. Ang! So much does change in 4 years, I was just thinking about that this morning as I thought about where I voted last time. (in Gardner, before I was pregnant with our first, after buying our first house!)

    I’m excited to see what will happen in the next 4 years!

Leave a Reply

