Waiting

Thankfully, my  hunter is home. He got two turkeys while out in Kansas…one of them had big spurs and was the biggest he’s ever “harvested.” He also came home with a big batch of mushrooms…I will be passing on those. From what I’ve gathered, he had a blast out in Kansas, and it was great for him to get away for a few days. He also went hunting yesterday morning, but must have decided to sleep in today, because he was still in bed when I left for a meeting about Sierra Leone.

Yes, I’m going to Sierra Leone. For those of you who missed that, I was offered a chance to go on the vision trip that our church is taking. Of course, you must think I’m crazy for going at a time like this. Trust me, me too. I had originally emailed my team members to let them know that I wasn’t sure what I would be doing as far as the trip was concerned. I mean, how can I logically leave for 10 days at a time like this? But after talking with Brian after he got home, he told me that I should still plan to go to Sierra Leone. And, just in Brian’s style, he asked “do you not care about the Africans knowing about Jesus?” How do you answer that?  But, like I said, we talked about it and Brian reminded me that even if we do decide to go with a transplant, there will still be a few months of preparation in which he would have to undergo some intense chemotherapy. Since the trip is at the end of  May, that’s not very far away. Therefore, we probably won’t be into the hairy details of treatments until afterwards. (i hope). Obviously, if all things go crazy, I can always back out. But, i don’t plan on doing that. SO…yeah. I’m going to West Africa from May 22-31. Previous to our doctor’s appointment, I was pretty anxious about the adventure of this trip (uh, hello poisonous snakes), but now that my life is one big adventure, this trip seems like a tiny bump in comparison.

Right now, we are just waiting. Waiting for the doctors to call to let us know what they collaboratively think is the best option for treatment. Waiting for some direction. Waiting for some answers.

In the midst of waiting, here are a few things that have gotten me through:

  • Lots of encouragement and support from friends, family and coworkers.
  • This verse that a friend shared with me on facebook: “Just think—you don’t need a thing, you’ve got it all! All God’s gifts are right in front of you as you wait expectantly for our Master Jesus to arrive on the scene for the Finale. And not only that, but God himself is right alongside to keep you steady and on track until things are all wrapped up by Jesus. God, who got you started in this spiritual adventure, shares with us the life of his Son and our Master Jesus. He will never give up on you. Never forget that.” ~ I Corinthians 1:7-9 (The Message)
  • A reminder this morning at our Sierra Leone meeting that when Jesus commissioned his followers to spread the Good News, He warned us about the hard times, but also reminded us to not be afraid because we have his power and no eternal harm can come to us.
  • Helpful tips from friends for how to handle stress in healthy ways.
  • Being reminded that God does still perform miracles.

God is good, all the time. And all the time, God is good.

Leave a Reply

