Thanks for lifting our arms.

So Joshua did what Moses had commanded and fought the army of Amalek. Meanwhile, Moses, Aaron, and Hur climbed to the top of a nearby hill. As long as Moses held up the staff in his hand, the Israelites had the advantage. But whenever he dropped his hand, the Amalekites gained the advantage. Moses’ arms soon became so tired he could no longer hold them up. So Aaron and Hur found a stone for him to sit on. Then they stood on each side of Moses, holding up his hands. So his hands held steady until sunset. As a result, Joshua overwhelmed the army of Amalek in battle. Exodus 17:10-13

Last night my best friend emailed me: “I am still believing for a miracle.  I know you may not anymore, but I do.  And sometimes, you need someone to believe for you.” That’s what you’ve all done for us. I am overwhelmed, amazed and am yet again blown away that Jesus was right – you can’t do life alone – life was meant to be lived in community.

I can’t possibly thank you all for the overwhelming support and encouragement. Like I emailed to my coworkers at church…thanks for praying the BIG, HAIRY, AUDACIOUS prayers on our behalf. Some of you, I don’t even know. Our last blog post was shared over and over in the past 24 hours…so I don’t know who is reading this right now…but thank you for caring.

I know that many of you have said that you’re touched by our big faith. The truth is, I’m scared to death. Some of you have said “i can’t even imagine.” To that, I reply “I can’t either…that’s why it’s terrifying.” But in the midst of that, I can confidently said that we believe in a BIG God. And he may or may not choose to heal Brian in the way that we are begging, pleading, storming heaven for….but He is a Healer, just the same.

Another friend shared this with me yesterday, and I couldn’t say things any better if I tried. We are truly running, sprinting, tripping over our feet to get to God…because He, and He alone, will always be enough.

Last night my mom said that they practiced the following song in her choir practice. I think this may have been one of the very first songs I every completely memorized when I was little. I sure am glad that I chose to memorize this song, because when everything else is shaking, this is the solid truth that we can run back to every single time..When you don’t see His plan, When you can’t trace His hand, Trust His heart.

So again, I can’t say thank you enough. Your words, hugs, offers for support, and big hairy audacious prayers…they have all truly been the things that are holding up our arms. You are winning the battle for us.

On a final note, Brian already shot one turkey…he is on the hunt for his second one today! Enjoy the photo of the turkey foot and beard..courtesy of Brian. 🙂

Feel free to share this with anyone any everyone who may be interested in following our story.

Leave a Reply

