Bad things. Good people.

I figured now would be a good time to post a blog. You know, the day of a chemo treatment, after my flippin’ facebook won’t let me post a status, and after Brian just sent me a sad cancer story about a woman who may only have months to live. AWESOME. There are some days when the reality of cancer is just harder and more infuriating and frustrating than others. This is one of those days. I have a headache, a lot going on at work, and a calendar that doesnt have an empty box in what seems like forever.

Why does God allow bad things to happen to good people?

Brian has been getting more and more involved in the student ministry at our church lately and has even gotten over a bunch of mental hurdles that have kept him from considering to apply for the part-time youth director position that is now open at our satellite location. The other day he “threw his name in the hat.” He is diving into the Bible like I’ve never seen, crafting his little “sermons” for the Wednesday night youth group that he is temporarily leading until they hire someone for the position, and has a vision for this ministry that is pretty rare for “just a volunteer.”

And he has cancer.

And he could someday be told that he has no more options for treatment.

So I ask again, Why do bad things happen to good people?

For God’s glory, I suppose. But it’s not fair. Why is it fair that a hard working, youth-ministry loving, God-serving man has to have cancer and a serial killer can run free? Cuz God loves them both equally, I guess. I don’t get that about God, but i guess it’s good that He is the way He is. Why does a kid-loving, moral-keeping, faith-living man have to be subjected to toxic chemicals that most likely keep him from having kids of his own when other people can “accidentally” get pregnant and not even want them? To teach us that the ways of God are a mystery, I suppose. That none of us have control of anything.

Why do bad things happen to good people?

I think that may be a question that everyone has at some point in their life. But right now, that’s a glaring question that I wish I could answer in my life. I don’t know how to give God the glory for this…but I will. I will be quick to give Him the credit, I know He is working on our behalf.

Some days, it’s just harder than others.

6 thoughts on “Bad things. Good people.

  1. My dear daughter…how I love you…and how my heart aches for you. I love your honesty and truth. You are exactly where God needs you to be. Psalm 61 and 61 – great verses about crying out to God…pour your heart out to God…He hears…He listens…He loves!!!
    Holding you and Brian before the throne today.

  2. I’m so sorry today is a tough day. During my devotion this morning I was reminded that we need to link our hope NOT to problem solving in this world, but to the promise of an eternity of problem-free life in Heaven. If we refuse to waste energy worrying, we will have an extra amount of strength to spare.

    YOU are great. YOU have been prepared for this role. YOU can do this.

    “Come to me for rest and refreshment. This journey has been too much for you, and you are bone-weary. Do not be ashamed of your exhaustion… instead, see it is an opportunity for Me to take charge of your life.” (Jesus Calling)

    I love you. You can do this.

  3. I am so proud of you and Brian! I am sorry this is so tough! I wish I could take it all away… I have enjoyed seeing your posts about the work Brian is doing! I admire him for the amazing road his is on as he ministers to youth! I know it is something he will not regret… even though there will be rocky roads at times! 🙂 I will be praying that God’s will is done in regards to the part time position.

    Today I pray for strength for both of you and that God will give you exactly what each of you need to face today and the days ahead! I know it is hard to understand the good people…bad things deal…. I still don’t understand it….other than knowing that God will use it for his Glory in some way.

    You are a beautiful, strong woman of God..He will give you the strength and grace to bring you through whatever comes you way.

    I love you!
    Praying for you today…and always!

  4. GOD KNOWS!
    He knows that Brian has the strength to fight, that Brian has the strength to help others through accepting this somewhat experimental treatment, and that Brian has you for support!!! AND, he knows that you both will have eternal life as a reward!
    My love to you both.

  5. Angie-

    I think part of it is for blogs like this. You are going on this journey and through it all you are leaning on God and trusting him to see you though. Even on the crappy days, you are bringing him glory. It is not anyone that could take the road you and Brian are on and at your age, many people do not know or understand the pain you feel. I am so honored and proud to know you and the amazing woman you are, you handle things with grace that many would not. I love you Ang!

    I want to give you a quick verse that my friend Ali posted to her facebook the other day. Her daughter is suffering from very severe health problems and they are running out of options. She is only 5 years old. and her parents are 2 people who serve and love God, they were pastors and are now missionaries, I think they ask themselves this same thing everyday 🙂

    “If you ask, ‘Why is this or that happening?’ no light may come, for ‘the secret things belong to the Lord our God’ (Deut 29:29); but if you ask, ‘How am I to serve and glorify God here and now, where I am?’ there will always be an answer.”

    I love you Angie! Hope this helped you!

    Becky

  6. God knows and hears your heart. It seems so little to do but I am praying for both of you and all the parents involved in your life.

Leave a Reply

