Fighting cancer one bite at a time.

I’m starting a new journey this week, and I’d like you all to come along with me. While we know that there are a few prescribed treatment options available, one option that is often forgotten is the importance of good nutrition. Now, this is no secret, and Brian is often talking about getting his fruits and veggies in…but usually our fruits and veggies still come in small portions. While we might not eat fried food often or even super fatty foods, I know we could do better than spaghetti and turkey burgers. There are SO MANY foods that literally help fight cancer, can boost the immune system, and help prevent other diseases from forming.

So, I am now on this journey of becoming a wife that cooks really nutritious, cancer-fighting meals. I may not be able to do much to help Brian fight this thing, but this is one thing I CAN do.

Why do I call it a journey? Because, well, I’m really not what most people would call a “cook.” I can make some meals..but I’ve kinda just gotten stuck on some easy fast meals and just repeat that menu over and over. 🙂 I like fast and easy things, and honestly, I’ve never really eaten super “healthy” or “nutritious” so this is going to take some work.

To help me out, I bought The Everything Cancer-Fighting Cookbook at Barnes & Noble today, so I’ve already gotten a few tips and recipes..but of course, I’ll be constantly researching and seeking out new recipes and nutrition information. Actually, this Saturday I have an appointment set up with the nutritionist at Hy-Vee to walk through the store with Brian and I to help us figure out what things are super-foods and what things to avoid…so I’m looking forward to that!

I thought that one way to keep me motivated and excited about this, I would blog about my nutritious, cancer-fighting cooking adventures. 🙂

So this is what I’m making this week*…

Coconut Shrimp with Pineapple salsa with steamed veggeies

Chicken & Bean tacos with steamed veggies

Mustard Pork Tenderloin with Sweet Potatoes

Sweet & Sour Turkey Burgers and Low-Calorie Baked Eggplant Parmesan 

Pork Quesadillas with sauteed Bell Peppers

Grilled Orange Chicken Fingers and steamed veggies

*And of course, probably a spaghetti or light-alfredo with bell peppers/onions/chicken to make for an easy meal. 😉 

I’ll let you know how it turns out, and I’ll try to include pictures and recipes, if I get a chance. I’m open to any suggestions and/or encouragement. This is uncharted territory for me. 🙂

One thought on “Fighting cancer one bite at a time.

  1. Ang: I have begun planning a menu for 1 months at a time, so shopping is easier and a lot less expensive!! Sue said that she knows a couple people that cook for a month…put it all in the freezer…so every night is super easy…you just cook 1 weekend a month…and put meals for two in freezer so it’s alreay made…i may do that next month…just thought i’d mention that…does “cancer free” also mean “everything fresh”? or can you freeze and microwave?

Leave a Reply

