The Announcement

Okay, okay. I know that all (one) of you are wanting me to tell you what the “announcement” is that I mentioned yesterday. Okay, maybe I just couldn’t wait to tell you myself. πŸ™‚ That, and the fact that the news is starting to go around on Facebook about this thing. πŸ™‚ (And like I said yesterday, NO, we’re not pregnant.)

First, a background story. I remember a few months ago..maybe around the time I got married..I was in this place where I really didn’t know what God wanted for me. I mean, I still don’t exactly know, but I was just asking and questioning God…”If you’ve given me these skills and talents and abilities, how am I exactly supposed to be using them for you?” I realize I have a church job right now…but that may or may not always be the case. I can’t just depend on the fact that I’m lucky enough to have a job that uses my skills for ministry. There’s got to be more than just that.

Around that time, a co-worker of mine, Jeff, came up to me and shared that he was writing a book. After considering a few different people to illustrate it, he and a few of his colleagues on this project kept coming back to my name. I think one of the main reasons for that was because I had just finished a “vision” graphic that looked like this:

The image includes a “rough sketch” type of idea. Something that is jotted down, but it’s not yet perfected. That was exactly the look they were going for. You see, the book that Jeff was writing was all about recovering from things that are keeping us from being more like Christ…whether that is an addiction, boundary issue, hurts, or just some repeating habits that we can’t break. We’re not perfect….we’re just sketches. BUT, because of the power of Christ and His work on the cross, someday when we reach heaven, we’ll be made like Him…Perfect and complete.

So…I illustrated a book that is now being published.

The book is written for Jeff’s own ministry (apart from PV) called JUMP Recovery (JUMP stands for Jesus Understands My Problems). The book is called JUMP: Life Transformation.

Anyways, to say that I am honored to be a part of this project would be a total understatement! I am amazed at how God orchestrates everything in such perfect ways. I’m blessed that he would choose to use my talents in this way. I’ve even learned quiet a few things through this book. It’s not just a recovery book…it’s just a great tool for Christian growth in general, I think!

Jeff Baird has done a great job authoring the book, along with PV’s former pastor, Vernon Armitage, who now works at Willow Creek in Chicago! There is talk of this book being sold and used at Willow Creek..but that hasn’t been confirmed. But still…WILLOW CREEK. THE-WILLOW-CREEK. Hello, Bill Hybels! πŸ™‚

I was going to wait until next week to share the news, because that is when it is actually being shipped out…but now that it’s officially going to print, the news is starting to spread. So I thought I’d share the news with you now! πŸ™‚ Hooray! To purchase the book, you can go toΒ http://www.jumprecovery.org/donate.html or you can pick it up at Pleasant Valley’s bookstore next week! Flip to the inside and you will see my name in the credits!

Yay for illustrating a PUBLISHED book! (Oh, and also designing the cover!)

P.S. — I will post some of the book illustrations throughout my next few posts. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “The Announcement

  1. Congrats Angie!! That is awesome and I am so happy for you! Hopefully the first of many great projects for you! And yes, secretly I was hoping for baby news!!

    Love you!
    Aunt Annie

  2. Angie,
    This is so awesome!!! I pray God continues to bless you with more opportunities to do exactly what God has for you!! I am so impressed. And not surprised at all because I have always known you are very talented!!

Leave a Reply

