Time to bite the bullet

For most of my life, I have been extremely healthy. Okay, so I might eat a few extra donuts on occasion…but that’s a post I will be getting to soon. But besides a “muffin top,” I’ve been pretty healthy. I go years in between doctors appointments. But lately (as in, the last 6.5 months), I have been sneezy, stuffy, wheezy.

[i literally can’t remember what it feels like to breathe clearly]

I know it’s allergies. When it didn’t go away for the first 30 days, I suspected perhaps that was it. Then I got a sinus infection because I was so clogged, which added some junk to my lungs. I recovered from the infection, but my nose was still as plugged as….[insert bowel movement joke here]. Let’s just say, I don’t know if my apartment smells like roses or feet.

Fast forward, it is now 6.5 into the situation and it’s just getting worse. The days are few and far between that i can actually breathe sufficiently through one nostril. Forget about both nostrils! And sometimes I even find it hard to breath through my mouth, which is the worse feeling in the world.

How do I know it has been 6.5 months, you ask? Because it started the moment I moved into a new apartment with 2 dogs…i.e., when I got married.

So there lies the problem. In my small knowledge of medicine, my guess is that it is either A. something in the apartment (mold, etc) or B. the dogs. Or probably more accurate, C: both. Since I have never really had this reaction to animals that I’m around for hours on end..nor have I experienced this around mold…but perhaps the two together are causing an upheaval in my air passages.

So, I figured it was time to bite the bullet and get tested for allergies so I know how to properly fight this (because the over-the-counter stuff isn’t working). I have an appointment on Thursday morning, so I’m hoping I find out what the problem is. I’m sure Brian does too, considering I blow my nose multiple times a night..waking him up. Oops.

So, off to the doctor I go. Hopefully I’ll be able to fix it with medicine. No way that we can get rid of those dogs. You might as well chalk me up to the worse wife ever, if that was the case.

2 thoughts on “Time to bite the bullet

Leave a Reply

