Snow storms.

Who doesn’t like the frenzy that occurs right before a big winter snow storm; The hussle and bustle to get all tucked into our little homes right before a beautiful, glistening snowfall? The anticipation of possible school closings always had me on my tiptoes when I was a student and the rumor of possible early dismissals at work are still exciting.

I remember having the power go out a few times because massive amounts of snow had pulled down a few power lines…so my family would light candles and we’d spend some quality time together as a family.

I remember times that my brother and I would go out and build snow forts in the 8 foot high snow piles.

I remember having Driver’s Ed in one of Iowa’s worst winters in decades and having my driving partner spin us through an intersection and having only a snow pile stop us from going over a cliff. Or the time that he got us stuck in a snowdrift 10 miles outside of town while the schools closed early and everyone was gone by the time we got back.

I remember my family driving to Iowa City with my best friend, Megan, for my 15th birthday in a blizzard. We could only see 5 feet in front of us on the highway and my mom shut off the radio when “I Can Only Imagine” came on…because she was afraid we might die.

These are just a few of the many reasons why I love snow. The memories of my Iowa days come flooding back when the white stuff falls from the sky.

People don’t seem to have the same opinion about snow down here in Kansas City, but being from Iowa has made me a loyal snow fan. Whenever the weatherman is predicting snow, you can find a giant smile on my face. And whenever people complain about it, it stabs a little piece of my heart. I try not to take it personally…they just don’t know what they’re missing.

Tonight we’re expecting another 3 inches, so we may have over a foot of snow on the ground that has accumulated over the past week or so. That’s a lot for Kansas City. I’ll take it as long as I can. Maybe someday I’ll move to Colorado, Minnesota, or even Iowa again….maybe then I can be surrounded with people who share the same affection for snow that I have.

Here’s hoping…

Whatever you do, don’t eat yellow snow (which there happens to be plenty of outside my apartment).

One thought on “Snow storms.

Leave a Reply

