Discontent

I dunno why.

It’s like a disease that creeps in ever so subtly.

And then WHAM.

It makes it’s appearance.

Discontentment.

Not happy with the jobs. Not happy with my weight. Not happy with this and that and everything else, for that matter. And don’t even get me started with my cooking skills and dryer that takes 3 hours to dry a large load of clothes. Even this blog design…it’s just…not good enough. I need more. I need better.

I just need to

Get

The

Heck

Out

Of

Here.

So, that’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Crazy, isn’t it? Considering I did just get back from a nice, long, AMAZING honeymoon with my great husband where we had a completely wide open schedule that we could do anything we wanted. So great. And I get back, and nothing is good enough, fast enough, big enough, long enough, thin enough, fun enough, satisfying enough, cheap enough, pays enough, enough, enough, enough.

I’ve had enough. Enough of nothing being good enough.

Jennifer Kennedy Dean, in my devotional “He Restores My Soul,” says:

Praise dispels the enemy’s troops. Praise lays the groundwork for the display of God’s power.

So that’s what I’m choosing to do.

Praise.

Because I’m not letting the enemy steal one more moment of joy from my life.

Enough is enough.

Thank you, God, for providing an amazing husband. Thank you for the gorgeous weather, for two jobs in this economy, for people who care, for a great church, for good health, for great memories, for mentors, for friends, for an amazing family, for enough money to pay the bills and live a comfortable life, for the many opportunities to see different parts of the world and to touch the lives of many less fortunate that me. I’m even thankful that we are able to have internet at our apartment and that we actually have a washer and dryer in our apartment rather than walking to a laundry room.

Thank you, God, for creating a huge, incredible ocean that keeps a constant rhythm for this amazing earth. Thank you for the millions of different species on our planet. Thank you for so many colors that are splashed across our universe. Thank you for perfect notes and chords and sounds that combine to create the perfect melody. Thank you for lines and shapes and textures that create incredible works of art. Thank you for the ability to think and write and read and communicate. Thank you for caring about me…little ‘ole me. Thank you for not forcing me to control the elements of my little world….I couldnt even make my little heart beat or my little lungs breathe air in and out. I would be dead in a second if it were not for your absolute, perfect sovereignty working all things together for the good. Thank you for comforting me in times of grief and for being patiently faithful while I complain about little, tiny paragraphs in my life when you see how the whole, entire story is beautifully written according to your good and wonderful plan.

When I think about these things, I guess I don’t care how long it takes to dry my husband’s undies in the dryer.

One thought on “Discontent

  1. I definitely think we all get like this at times… some more frequently than others. 😉 It’s always a good reminder to stop and appreciate the little things in life that we take for granted.

Leave a Reply

