God’s promises

I would never ever wish a trial or tribulation on anyone. I wouldn’t wish them on myself. Even just semi-hard things are difficult enough. But in the little time that I’ve known Brian and I’ve walked this journey of cancer with him, there are things that I am beginning to understand in entirely new ways. And please understand that the little that I’ve seen in Brian’s story is really nothing compared to what he’s been through, and I realize that. So don’t think that I’m playing the “woe is me” card…i’m not at all. What I’ve seen is minor and pales in comparison to the scary times he’s had to go through. But walking this short distance with him and considering all that the future may hold for us brings me into a relationship with God probably unlike anything I’ve experienced thus far in my life…and I have a feeling that statement will just become more true as time goes on.

I have come to realize in a deep and profound way that God’s promises..every single one of them..are true. God will not give you more than you can handle. He will comfort those in need. He will be your provider, protector, healer, comforter..he will be my portion..my sustainer..he will be all that I need. It’s one thing to say it and know it in your head..or to even know it in your heart….but to live it out…it’s as if it puts a gold seal on it. God’s promises are true…period. I now understand the impact of a witness or a testimony…it gives even more weight and credibility to a claim. Now, hear me when I say that God’s promises are true whether we believe them or experience them or not. But when you are on your knees crying out to God and those promises stare you in the face while you’re searching His Word for answers….now THAT is powerful. It makes God real in an entirely new way to me.

And so while I would never wish a trial or difficulty or hard, scary time on anyone….the growth that it brings is refreshing and pure goodness.

Here are just a few of God’s promises that I claim today….

Psalm 34:8 Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.

Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

Isaiah 9:6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

1 Corinthians 10:13 …And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear…

Psalm 23:4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

2 Corinthians 4:7-9 But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.

2 thoughts on “God’s promises

  1. Well put. And even having been there I need to be reminded. I love 2 Corinthians 4:7-9. I also love how later in the chapter it talks about the things that are temporary and the things that are eternal.

Leave a Reply

