Wait on the Lord

The word ‘wait’ is found 158 times in the Bible (NLT) and the word ‘patience’ is mentioned more than a handful of times. It is mentioned as scripture describes God’s patient nature to wait, and soooooo many times as a call for us to become more like God in that very nature of patience and waiting.
Psalm 27:14
Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord.
Psalm 5:3
Listen to my voice in the morning, Lord. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly.
Just in Job and Psalms alone, waiting seems to appear as a main theme. It makes me think that God was intentional about this thing called patience and getting his people to be more like Him in his patient nature. Because when you boil it down, people will inevitably find themselves in times of crisis, heartache, or difficulty…and people can kick and scream and try to fix things as best as they can…they can manipulate or try to control a situation as much as they possibly can…but ultimately, God is the only sovereign being in this universe and there comes a point when we as humans face this truth. God is God, and I am not. And so, the only option we have is to wait. And so in a sense, I suppose patience is a way of constant surrender. A way to say, ‘i know I’m not in control, I trust you know what you are doing.’ That’s hard. I have very very little patience….and I’m realizing it more and more every single hour of every single day. Apparently my patience stems out of my desperate desire to control my life and situations and circumstances. But my decision to wait on the Lord is me acknowledging that God is sovereign and I’m not. Now that is a tough pill to swallow when the rubber meets the road. Easy to say it, a whole lot harder to live that out when life throws those situations at you.
So this season of my life is all about learning to wait…and more specifically, to wait on the Lord.
Hope my random thoughts make a tiny bit of sense…

One thought on “Wait on the Lord

  1. Pingback: Health update 4/30/10 «

Leave a Reply

