missing haiti

As i sit at work today, i can’t help but think of Ellison and Angelou. I wonder if they’re playing kickball or if they’re eating their rice for breakfast. I think about Pierre, I wonder if he’s doing his leg exercises to strengthen his leg…i wonder if he’s staying out of trouble. I think about Jenika, and if she’s been able to explore the truth in the Bible deeper. I wonder how Renise is doing, how big she’s getting with a beautiful little girl inside. I think about Dafka, who also recently found out she was pregnant, but isn’t showing right now…and her desire to finish her high school education so she can be a nurse. Except that she can’t register for school without a birth certificate and other legal documents that are all now buried in rubble in some government building in Port au Prince. It’s now a common problem there in Haiti. All identitification, legalities…gone.

But even more than that, now i think about the rainy season. People who just lost everything, including the roof over their heads…they are now searching for dry land. Tents, filled with water. Where to go now? Everything in me just wants to hop on a plane and get down there again. We have to do SOMETHING! I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING! But what can I do? I feel so helpless. This is just one of many struggles I’m wrestling with post-trip.

If God is the God of JUSTICE, and he calls the church to actively fight for the widow, the orphan, the homeless, the oppressed, the hungry, the naked, the poor….then WHY are there so many people filling up the church pews who are just SITTING there and not doing a THING!? Am I one of those people? God, please don’t ever let me be one of those people…please don’t ever let me get too comfortable that I miss out on Your command to Your Church.

I’m struggling with a lot of things right now…so much processing to do. I’m looking forward to a Saturday alone to just go to a coffee shop or a bookstore and just think, pray, and really seek out God for answers. I’m processing the end of a good friendship, the possibility of starting a new life with a ring on my finger, and this deep urge that we HAVE to fight for those who can’t fight for themselves.

I’m missing Haiti a lot right now. And then I think about South Africa and the piece of my heart that I left over there. We have to do something. YOU have to do something about this. I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING.

America has been too blessed to just sit around and get fat and lazy on that blessing. We’ve got to bless others.

5 thoughts on “missing haiti

  1. From “My Utmost for His Highest” – Oswald Chambers

    As the Father has sent Me, I also send you – John 20:21

    Peter now realizes he does love Him, due to the revelation that came with the Lord’s piercing question. The Lord’s next point is – “Pour yourself out. Don’t testify about how much you love Me and don’t talk about the wonderful revelation you have had, just ‘Feed My Sheep.'”

    “Do you love me?” Then, “Feed My Sheep” – John 21:17

    He is not offering us a choice of how we can serve Him; He is asking for absolute loyalty to His commission, a faithfulness to what we discern when we are in the closest possible fellowship with God. If you have received a ministry from the Lord Jesus, you will know that the need is not the same as the call. The call is to be faithful to the ministry you received when you were in true fellowship with Him. This does not imply that there are a whole series of ministries marked out for you. It does mean that you must be sensitive to what God has called you to do, and this may sometimes require ignoring demands in service in other areas.

    _______________________________________________

    I know how you feel, I think – at least to some degree. The above passage comes straight from the past 3 days of Chambers’ Devotional. It amazes me how God always speaks right to my heart when I’m ready to listen.

    I wanted to share this portion with you because I believe it has helped me this past week, and I thought it might help you.

  2. Hi Angie –

    Found your blog through your comment on Anne Jackson’s blog on “Unfinishedness.” And yours moved me.

    For the last year or so I’ve been trying to learn about people who honestly care about “Loving and helping their neighbors.” It’s been slow. But I think that, little by little, I’m finding more and more people who DO care.

    Yes, we as Christians ARE supposed to “do something.” Yes, we ARE supposed to “fight for those who can’t fight for themselves.”

    A few years after my wife Yvonne and I married, we came across two Scriptures I’d never heard once in the several decades I’d attended church. Yes, they’re only one small part of DOING something. But they’re important, and part of that importance is that they’re ongoing. They don’t just help places like Haiti once, but over and over.

    They’re Deuteronomy 14:28-29 and 26:12-19. Both teach that God strongly wants us to use a third of our tithe to help people like the poor, immigrants, orphans, widows.

    Back then, they gave all of their tithe every three years. My own family has found that, thanks to one modern innovation (monthly payments, for both the church and the poor), it works better to give a third of EVERY tithe check.

    I know that some people today say that when the Law was abolished in Christ, we didn’t have to tithe any more. I personally disagree. (1) Tithing existed BEFORE the Law, so there’s no reason to think it ended with it. (2) The Living Bible’s translation of Deuteronomy 14:23 says tithing’s purpose is “to teach you always to put God first in your lives.” Has “putting God first” ever changed? No. So I don’t think we can say that tithing has either. (3) Have either “love God” or “love your neighbors” been done away with? That answer’s clear. So, to me, it makes perfect sense that God would also say “use two-thirds of your tithe for me, and the other third to love and help your neighbors.”

    I’m going on too long, so I’ll stop. Let me just say I know the Bible says much more than that about helping our “neighbors.” (Some years ago God prompted me – maybe “clubbed” is a better word – to find out what his Word does say about “loving our neighbors.” 3,600 verses later, that’s evolved into a book which I hope can get published before long. For now, you can see a slightly shortened version, free, at http://www.sparkleofnature.com. (And you’re welcome to print one for yourself – just not commercially. And just remember some of the best stories won’t be in until the published version.)

    God bless you for caring about others. And good luck with the “ring on the finger.”

    Pete A., plus Yvonne, Yvette and Bill

  3. Just a PS, Angie. Should have added this before.

    Regular Christians will often accept what I talked about well. And many non-churchgoers get all excited about it.

    But one group that will be very slow to accept it, for many very good reasons, is pastors. I understand that and don’t criticize it. Pastors are responsible for the church, including balancing the church’s budget. And at first that just looks irreconcilable with those two Deuteronomy passages.

    God put my family through some strong real-life lessons before we accepted that churches could do it (I’ve only ever attended one that did, but hope more will gradually begin.) But that’ll take a lot of faith. A lot of love for the poor. A lot of love for God. A lot of determination.

    So my suggestion is: since it’s a powerful and God-given tool for helping the needy, do get acquainted with it. Read those verses in your Bible, and that chapter in my manuscript (chapter 16, the next to last chapter in the book, titled “Tithes, Offerings, and Loving our Neighbors.”) Read the stories there too. Then pray for your pastor(s), but be VERY patient with them. Acceptance WILL take time.

    God bless you and the heart you have for the needy.

  4. Pingback: Tithing Us » missing haiti «

Leave a Reply

