What if? EVEN IF.

Life is uncertain. It is full of ups and downs. There are endless possibilities right around the corner and we have no idea how to be prepared. It can be scary sometimes. It can feel like a rollercoaster that we’re just hoping we can live through. There will always be “what ifs.”

What if I lose my job tomorrow? What if I’m in a car accident? What if that couple I love gets a divorce? What if the test turns out positive?

While I believe that being wise and preparing for emergencies is a good thing (and biblical), I don’t want to live my life holding my breath wondering “what if” something horrible comes my way. In this life, bad things will inevitably come. I don’t want to hold back until I find out the odds are in my favor or I know I’ll be able to handle the crisis in my own strength.

I want to live in such a way that I am not restricted by the “what ifs.” I want to live my life in a manner that I stare the impossibilities of life face to face and rely on God to do the impossible…to give me the strength I need…to be my provider…to be my comfort…to be my peace…to be my hope. If we waited to follow God until we had every risk calculated and we were certain we could handle it in our own strength…..then what’s faith all about? What’s trusting in Him really mean in my life?

What “what ifs” are causing you to live life to the fullest?

What if you will be this lonely forever? What if you end up falling for him and he cheats on you? What if you are laid off? What if I move and never make any new friends and my old friends forget me? What if that adoption falls through? What if you will battle depression for the rest of your life? What if you can’t pass that test? What if you will never be good enough? What if my friends abandon me?

EVEN IF I stare death itself in the face, I choose to trust Him….because I truly believe He is all I need.

3 thoughts on “What if? EVEN IF.

  1. I agree fully. I am a calculate the risk kind of guy, but you just cannot always do it. Life is too short to live it all at the end of a pencil : )

  2. Pingback: thatangiegirl » Blog Archive » But God

Leave a Reply

