God is too wise to be mistaken

I won’t lie. Today was a hard day. Things went down that really made my heart heavy and kept my mind wandering. Tonight I happened to run across a friend’s blog who spoke about the same situation, and she mentioned the song “Trust His Heart.” It took me back to my good ole elementary days. I had this song memorized by heart and I would stand on my bed with my hairbrush and belt it out like Celene Dion. How could I have forgotten this song that speaks so much truth? I read through her post and through the lyrics of the song. I raced to youtube to find the song online and hit play.

And I sat down on the floor at the foot of my bed…and cried.

How many of us have thought God has forgotten us? Maybe God has made a mistake in our lives. Maybe He simply is just not around or paying any attention to us. How can God be real, and yet this is my life?

I know I’ve been there.

And I know some of my friends are there right now as well.

Today I was working on some promotion for our next message series at PV called “Interrupted.” It couldn’t have been more timely for me today. It was all about how God interrupted lives, spiritual journeys, plans–and ultimately–HISTORY, by sending down Christ as our Savior. What seemed like a major interruption was (pardon the cliche) the best blessing in disguise known to man.

May I never forget that God is good…he always has been and he always will be and he can’t be anything but. May I never forget that God wants the best for me, and that He really does see me and know me and is very active and intentional in every detail of my life. May I never forget that when those interruptions and trials and desert times come that God has a purpose for the pain…whether we see that purpose on this side of heaven or not. And may I never forget that when all is stripped away, when all is lost, and when all is hurting…God is there. God is here.

We’ve been surrounded and battered by troubles, but we’re not demoralized; we’re not sure what to do, but we know that God knows what to do; we’ve been spiritually terrorized, but God hasn’t left our side; we’ve been thrown down, but we haven’t broken. (2 Cor 4:8 MSG)

One thought on “God is too wise to be mistaken

Leave a Reply

