Why I confessed my weight.

I’ve already had several people mention the weight loss challenge with my brother, their impressive remarks about Andy’s 12 pound loss, and comments about me stating my actual weight.

Let me tell you the reasons why I did so, and a few things that weren’t reasons for doing so…

First, I didn’t do it for attention or to highlight some impressive achievement of a goal. To be honest, I don’t really have a set “goal.” I’ll remind you to reread this post to remember why I’m doing this in the first place. It’s not about me, it’s not about me beating or proving anything to anyone. It’s about the fact that I know God has called me to respect my body more than I have been.

Second, I post these numbers for additional accountability. If I know that a handful of people are keeping an eye on the challenge with my brother, I know I have to be ready for their questions on my progress. I know that every Monday, they will see the numbers..and the numbers don’t lie. And I also know that with their support, encouragement, and constant accountability, it will be a lot harder for me to throw in the  towel.

Third, the reason I post the actual true numbers is because honestly I don’t care. I’m not hiding. I’m not going to mask myself. This is who I am. Flaws and all. I strive to be authentic and genuine.

My challenge to you is to stop hiding. Maybe it’s not your weight. Maybe it’s that closet addiction. Maybe it’s your doubts. Maybe it’s your need for control and legalism. Maybe it’s your fear of being alone. Stop trying to mask it. Stop pretending it’s not affecting you. Tell someone. Get help. Be yourself. Confess. Do it. Now.

2 thoughts on “Why I confessed my weight.

  1. Pingback: Why I’m telling my weight….again.

Leave a Reply

