Shadow

Life is an adventure. It is full of highs and lows, good times and bad. But through it all, I am reminded that God is here. He is with us. He is Emmanuel. He didn’t come to earth just to show off and have a good time. He came to earth to break the separation between man and God through his death..he came to be WITH us. And that truth is something that I often forget when life suddenly blindsides you unexpectedly. It’s so easy how humans can forget, wouldn’t you agree? God is so good, and yet life has a way of giving us spiritual amnesia. Life is hard for me today. I won’t cover it up or disguise it. It sucks. I’m anxious and weary. But I also know God is in control. He has plans for me. He knows my next step in life, even if I don’t. He can see what’s around the corner when I can’t. Sometimes when hard times hit, I forget to remember that I’m living an adventure..with all the ups and downs and round and rounds and the steep, slow anticipation of the ascent to the top and the thrilling and terrifying rush to the bottom and the near-death twists and turns and the euphoria of the ride. Things wont be the way they are forever. If its a thrilling season, it won’t be forever. If it’s a scary time, it wont be forever. So today, as I sit here worried and confused and disappointed in the shadow of recent events, I also have a glimmer of excitement in my soul, wondering what may be next.

David Crowder’s new song “Shadow” has spoken to me a lot today. When life is crazy and hard, we remember Who is in control. 

Life is full of light and shadow
O the joy and O the sorrow
O the sorrow

And yet will He bring
Dark to light
And yet will He bring
Day from night

When shadows fall on us
We will not fear
We will remember

When darkness falls on us
We will not fear
We will remember

When all seems lost
When we’re thrown and we’re tossed
We remember the cost
We rest in Him
Shadow of the cross

Leave a Reply

