Obey God..for HIS sake.

Matthew 3:13-17 Jesus then appeared, arriving at the Jordan River from Galilee. He wanted John to baptize him. John objected, “I’m the one who needs to be baptized, not you!” But Jesus insisted. “Do it. God’s work, putting things right all these centuries, is coming together right now in this baptism.” So John did it. The moment Jesus came up out of the baptismal waters, the skies opened up and he saw God’s Spirit—it looked like a dove—descending and landing on him. And along with the Spirit, a voice: “This is my Son, chosen and marked by my love, delight of my life.” (MSG)

I feel like I’ve read this a million times. Some of you may as well. But the other night I read it differently.

Did you notice how John blatantly objected Jesus, followed by his seemingly legit excuse? How many times do we do that? But Jesus, seriously, I know twenty other churches going to that same homeless shelter, I can do something else for you…maybe a little cleaner or more sophisticated or larger scale. But Jesus, my Starbucks is the one thing I actually do to reward myself, and besides, that money wouldn’t add up to be THAT much anyways, and it wouldnt make THAT big of an impact anywhere. I’ll just give something else to help out. But Jesus, don’t you know how exhausted I am by the end of the day? I’msupposed to take care of myself, my body IS a temple of your spirit, after all. I’ll go help that person deal with their heartache later when I have more energy or I’ll spend time memorizing your scripture when I’m a little more alert. I wanna be on my “A game,” you know.

But look at Jesus’ response: DO IT.

Uhhhhh. ok. What was that? DO IT.

So, in my mind, if this were my story, if I did something I was told to do, I’d expect some great reward (because I’m human…and you’d probably expect some sort of compensation, too, if you were honest). But did you notice what happened after John did was Jesus commanded him to do (baptize Him)? God didn’t speak from heaven to JOHN, and He didn’t send down a dove to rest on JOHN’s shoulders. He spoke and sent His spirit to JESUS, and said that in HIM he was well pleased.

So when I read this the other night, I felt like God was saying “Angie, when I ask you to do things for me, and you finally reluctantly do them, I want the glory to go to JESUS ALONE. I don’t ask you to do those things so that you can be exalted….I ask you to do those things so that My Son will be exalted and glorified and be seen as the hope of the world. He is the one that I want the world to know. “

Still chewing on this…..

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

