nostalgia

Feeling a little nostalgic right now.

I’m sitting at my kitchen table, working from home, hoping to crack out some really good designs. The windows are wide open, a cool breeze in the air, lunch in my belly….and Stephen Speaks (“Out of my League”) came on my ipod.

Its odd and creepy, sometimes, how the songs on an iPod will make you jump back in time faster than a time machine. You know what I’m saying? You’re all into the most current worship song, and then OutKast’s “Hey Ya” drops you right back into good ole high school for the next 4 minutes. You know what I’m talkin about.

Nostalgic: a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life, to one’s home or homeland, or to one’s family and friends; a sentimental yearning for the happiness of a former place or time.

So back to my iPod, that is currently playing Stephen Speaks’ “Out of my League.” The first time I had ever heard of this band or this song was in the summer of 2006. First internship. Middle schoolers. Instant best friends. Giant mansion. Broken washer. Jumping on a trampoline during a thunderstorm. “Made” amatuer videos and KFC. 2 a.m. walmart runs for milk, crayons, and coloring books. A rebirth of my soul.

Sometimes I just wish I could go back to those days. Granted, I’ve learned and grown so much since that time, but somtimes I just wish I could spend another day back in that time. With those people. With those memories. With those mentors. With those Bible studies. With those conversations. With that passion. With that innocence.

I wonder if I’ll ever look back to this season of my life and wish to go back. Doubtful.

Leave a Reply

