The LORD most high

I love me some Kay Arthur. Seriously. That woman is the real deal.

And God bless the person who invented Community Groups. (Oh wait, that was Jesus in his charge to the Church). My Community Group is going through Kay Arthur’s book “Lord, I want to know you.” Ahhh-MAZING. Seriously. I am truly growing deeper in my knowledge of God through this book. It is seriously a must-read.

This week we’re studying the chapter about El Elyon, the LORD most high. It blessed my little socks off. Ok, so its summer..i’m not wearing socks…but seriously, it rocked me hard core.

Sit down a minute and let me just be a honest with you. Pretend we’re at Starbucks having a cup of coffee or something, and just bear with me a moment. I have been questioning God a lot in the past few months. (*gasp* Can I say that?) I mean, really, I honestly have been. It’s not that I just gave up on the whole God thing or anything like that, but really, I’ve been truly questioning God over circumstances in my life.

Really, God?? Did you see this coming?!? How could that possibly happen and still make sense!? Did you not see the plans I had for my life!? Did you not know this would happen, and yet you still allowed it?! You are an idiot…Anyone who saw this situation and could have any control in it would not have let that happen like that. Seriously. What are you thinking?! Are you really in control, because sometimes I really wonder. For real. I mean, was THIS your plan!? How could THIS be your plan?? Maybe you need a lesson or two in making plans for someone’s life. Because THIS is quite questionable. I don’t get you, God. I just dont get any of this.

Have you found yourself asking God these things or am I the only one?

Daniel 2:20-23 says:
“Praise the name of God forever and ever, for he has all wisdom and power. He controls the course of world events; he removes kings and sets up other kings. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the scholars. He reveals deep and mysterious things and knows what lies hidden in darkness, though he is surrounded by light. I thank and praise you, God of my ancestors, for you have given me wisdom and strength. You have told me what we asked of you and revealed to us what the king demanded.”

Nothing escapes God. NOTHING. God establishes leaders and removes others from their positions. He allows hard times and he heals. He knows the course He has planned for your life and NOTHING, no person, no demon, no fluke of nature could EVER thwart His plans. Nothing is by mistake. If God has ultimate control and authority over all that goes on, then the things that have happened to you and I are not by mere “chance.” God is VERY intentional about our lives and circumstances.

Will we experience sucky times in life? Read the book of Job. The answer is yes. But does that mean that God is any less sovereign or powerful or loving? No. Because if he really is working everything out for the good (which I believe he is), then this season in our lives is intentional. It is not by mistake.

As Joseph said to his brothers (who sold him into slavery, where he spent years in prison…a circumstance in which I would no doubt question God): “You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.” (Gen 50:20)

God’s intentions for you (and for this season of your life) are GOOD. Don’t doubt that.

Leave a Reply

