Today is All We’ve Got

Today is All We’ve Got

I keep living my life…
Hoping for a phone call that never comes.
Longing for a hand to hold that doesn’t exist.
Listening for a song that hasn’t been sung.

When will I learn that this is life?
This is it. Today is today.
And this is all we’ve got.

I’m living my life…
Making my schedule around plans that haven’t been made.
Keeping myself from living in case I’m invited to do something better.
Holding my breath for something to take my breath away.

When will I learn that this is life?
This is it. Today is today.
And today is all we’ve got.

I keep living my life…
Wondering if there’s a dance to be danced.
Thinking there’s a dream that must be dreamed.
Expecting it to be more than it seems.

When will I learn that this is life?
This is it. Today is today.
And this is all we’ve got.

Don’t go hoping for tomorrow. Don’t wish for more than this.
Make the most of what you’ve got. Life is shorter than a breath.

When will I learn that this is life?
This is it. Today is today.
And today is all we’ve got.

One thought on “Today is All We’ve Got

  1. HI, wow a week with out this I had a lot of reading to get allcaught up. I’m glad you learned from your Starbucks job, if we don’t learn as we go then it’s sort of a waste of time and a pay check.
    GOD BLESS
    love ya grams

Leave a Reply

