Full and Thankful

Two turkeys, two corn cassaroles, a couple servings of mashed potatoes and stuffing, apple pie, pumpkin pie, rolls, and lots of leftovers later…I’m full and thankful.

To deny God the thanks He deserves for His hand in my life this year would be absurd. While I’m not sure I’d want to re-live 2008 again, I can say for sure that I’m thankful for all God has done in and through me this year. He has challenged me beyond what I thought I could endure, asked me to let go of more than I wanted, and led me to take leaps of faith I didnt think I was capable of. His provision has been breathtaking, his peace, so beautiful and freeing.

I’m thankful for God’s overwhelming presence in times of fear and pain and confusion. I’m thankful for a family I knew I could rely on, thankful for friends to lean on, and thankful for mentors who guided me through this season.

I’m thankful for God’s plan, thankful for how things fell in place, thankful for a God who knows me, knows my name, and knows my personality so well to line things up in just a way that I could walk through this unknown time with an overwhelming peace.

I’m thankful to always have food to eat…even though it may be mac ‘n cheese or cereal sometimes. I’m thankful to have a job that helps me out with my addiction to Starbucks coffee (hehe). I’m thankful to have a job that lines up with my passions and talents so dynamically that I can’t contain the excitement i have to go to work each day.

I’m thankful for the kind of friends that genuinely care about me, that aren’t willing to let me be fake, and that challenge me to live a better life simply by the way they live theirs. I’m thankful for a great roommate. I’m thankful for a job at Starbucks that I’m not always surrounded by Christians, because it’s already lended me the opportunity to be a witness in a broken world. I’m thankful for God’s continuing grace, when i seem to fail over and over.

I’m thankful for so many things, and it would take me forever to list them all. But this year has shown me that even in the hard times, there are things to be thankful for. Actually, maybe more than usual.

Don’t let Thanksgiving just be one day a year. Let’s give God the thanks with every breath that we breath. 

One thought on “Full and Thankful

Leave a Reply

