Volunteer vs. Staff

I’ve been thinking a lot about the transition from volunteer to staff member. For anyone who has gone from being a volunteer to a staff member, you will totally be able to relate to these things. Here are a few things I’m noticing…

As a volunteer, I would go the extra mile because i was absolutely passionate about it.
Now that its my job, it is my responsibility to see things get done…whether i want to do it or not.

As a volunteer, I would stay up hours and hours brainstorming about all of the amazing possibilities for the ministry.
Now that its my job, its just another thing on my “to-do” list that needs to get accomplished somewhere among the hundred other tasks. And the idea of shaping a ministry is a daunting task sometimes.

As a volunteer, I’d book my schedule full of hanging out with students simply to invest in their lives, get to know them, encourage them, love on them, and disciple them.
Now that its my job, I’ve become more aware of my adgenda and the amount of things I schedule. The time I spend with students is now considered “contacting” and its apart of my job description. Something about that still doesn’t feel right. My schedule is so full now. Students have noticed and I’ve been called out. Ouch.

As a volunteer, I’d show up to an event and spend the entire time building relationships with the students.
Now that its my job, even though building relationships is the number one priority, somehow I find myself running around like a chicken with its head cut off, doing all of the background details. The students notice this as well, and I’ve been called out again. Double ouch.

As a volunteer, I’d rant and rave about the ideals.
Now that its my job, reality seems to blind me sometimes, sometimes the logistics are a nightmare.

Let’s just say it out loud: VOLUNTEERS ROCK.

Stacey and I (as volunteers) with our LifeGroup from last year. I absolutely love them!!

Stacey and I (as volunteers) with our LifeGroup from last year. I absolutely love them!!

Volunteering at our HS LifeGroups Hayride & Corn Maze night last Halloween. SO FUN!!

Volunteering at our HS LifeGroups Hayride & Corn Maze night last Halloween. SO FUN!!

Tonight I’ve been working on brainstorming an entirely new event for the fall. And I haven’t been this excited and motivated about these types of things for a few months now. Its been refreshing and exhilarating to create, dream, and plan for the ministry I’m apart of. As an intern, I refused to become “jaded” by the system…but after a year on staff for various positions, I can definitely see the change in my views. But I’m working on finding a balance between the idealist and the realist. Logistics will always be a beast, but God is bigger than logistics, and He’s the one who makes dreams a reality. There are great things to be said about being a staff member, but the value of a volunteer and their passion is priceless.

I want to be a staff member with the heart of a volunteer.

Anyone get what I’m saying?

One thought on “Volunteer vs. Staff

  1. Yes! I’m sooo struggling with this now. I’m staff AND volunteer. Being paid a small portion to do a 60 hour a week job! UGH! I’m feeling very alone and torn! Thanks for blogging about it! It’s added some much needed perspective!!

Leave a Reply

