Habakkuk

I can’t begin to pretend that this week has been all hearts and rainbows and flowers for me. It’s been a rough week so far. A lot of questions. A lot of processing. A lot of emotion. A lot of searching.

Yesterday I was sitting on my porch and I was reading some different scriptures in my Bible, and one thing led to another and somehow I found myself in the book of Habakkuk. I can barely pronounce the name, let alone find it in the Bible. (Ok, confession…its so small that i couldnt find it the first time i looked..). This three-chapter book is all about a prophet who, rather than being God’s voice to the people, was the people’s voice to God. He voiced their complaints to Him. He said what we so often want to say. And I’ve found myself in Habakkuk’s shoes lately saying: “God…YOU CAN’T BE SERIOUS!!!” (1:12 MSG)

Wow. Feels pretty liberating, huh? Complaining to God. It feels so wrong to do…but is it? I don’t think so…after all, its right there in the Bible…habakkuk complains to God. And remember Jacob? He wrestled with God. (they also think the name Habakkuk may mean wrestler).  

The thing I loved about the book of Habakkuk was the heart of this man. After he complained, he just waited and listened. And God spoke. He reminded Habakkuk that He was sovereign and saw all that was going on…he sees every detail and he is working for the good even when we don’t see it. He is working for justice when we feel the opposite is true. He is turning things right when we feel everything is wrong.

The end of Habakkuk (3:17-19 MSG) says this:

Though the cherry trees don’t blossom
   and the strawberries don’t ripen,
Though the apples are worm-eaten
   and the wheat fields stunted,
Though the sheep pens are sheepless
   and the cattle barns empty,
I’m singing joyful praise to God.
   I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God.
Counting on God’s Rule to prevail,
   I take heart and gain strength.
I run like a deer.
   I feel like I’m king of the mountain! 

It is my prayer today that I can take on the attitude of Habakkuk. That in the times I have no idea what God’s up to, when nothing seems to be going right, I will still praise Him because He is worthy and he is good.

3 thoughts on “Habakkuk

  1. I love Habakkuk! I lived in that book for about a year. I kept asking the same question “How long?” But the promise of God kept me holding on “I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told” “Though it linger, wait for it” Oh yeah!! That’s a promise I love!!!

  2. BLESS you my dear sweet grandaughter,now I will go home and read Habakkuk,it’s been a while, no matter how long it’s been something new is always there.

Leave a Reply

