You are not lost.

Excerpt from “The Shack” by William P. Young:

          Eventually, they both calmed again and the night’s quiet asserted itself once more. It seemed that even the frogs had called it quits. Mack lay there realizing that he was now feeling guilty about enjoying himself, about laughing, and even in the darkness he could feel The Great Sadness roll in and over him.
          “Jesus?” he whispered as his voice choked. “I feel so lost.”
          A hand reached out and squeezed his, and didn’t let go. “I know, Mack. But it’s not true. I am with you and I’m not lost. I’m sorry it feels that way, but hear me clearly. You are not lost.”

While I’ve glided through most of this book, I stumbled over these few paragraphs. The glide came to a lurching stop as I fought back the tears that were thrusting to get out. And they did come out. And I sat in my bed with the book in my hand and cried.

Now let me just pause here. I have never cried while reading a book. Never. And i usually laugh a little inside when i hear of someone who does choke up by reading a book. But this time, a hand seemed to just jump out of the book, shove through my skin, and wrench my heart until my eyes sprung with tears. This character had just spoken the very words that were inside me. And Jesus spoke the most calming words of comfort that i needed to hear…through a book.

I do feel so very lost right now. Sure, things seem to be going my way right now, but if i were to be very honest…i feel so very lost and alone. I don’t know where I’m headed, and I dont know who’s by my side. But I was reminded through a book that those thoughts are all a lie. I am not lost. And I am not alone.

Has a book ever articulated exactly how you were feeling inside?

3 thoughts on “You are not lost.

  1. “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, “Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?” Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we’re liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”
    by John Bradshaw
    that’s one of my favorite authors and quote…

Leave a Reply

