Is this a dream?

Do you ever have those moments? You know…the ones that seem so surreal and you just want to ask someone to pinch you, because SURELY you must be dreaming. I had one of those moments today.

I was sitting in my church’s coffee shop this afternoon waiting to meet with a 7th grade girl about baptism. This was my first shot at doing a “ministerial” role at work…usually its just administrative stuff. While I was waiting, I was reading “Godbearing Life” because someone happened to give it to me to take back to my office. So i had nothing better to do while waiting than just read. I’ve already read most of the book, so it was my second time around….man, its still just as good.

So I’m sitting there and i just have this moment…Am I really doing this? Is this really my life? Am I really getting paid to spend one on one time with students, impacting their lives, teaching them about sacraments of our faith, helping them discover who God is? Wow. I can’t believe this. 

Its one of those moments that brightens the crappiest of days/weeks. Its one of those moments that reminds you who you are, and what you’re doing, and Who’s behind it all. Its one of those moments that, just for a second, pulls you out of the burnout and gives you a boost to keep on going.

I love that.

 

One thought on “Is this a dream?

  1. I’m glad that God has blessed you with such a rewarding job. Although my job as mommy to J has many challenging moments, I know that I am also blessed with a rewarding job.

    I know that your words and actions will have a lasting impact on the youth in your church.

Leave a Reply

