This prayer thing.

Ive been talking with some friends lately about prayer. I’ve really been curious about it, but really never understanding it fully. I’m not sure i’ll ever fully understand it, but I think i’ve got a better grasp on it after this week.

I mean, I guess my question has been “If God is sovereign, and His will is best…then he will either choose to give or take away. So why do we even pray? Do we pray a certain way? And if so, why? Because wont he do what he wishes anyways?” And yeah, I’ve heard the concept that prayer doesn’t change God, it changes us. But still, I really just didn’t understand why prayer was such a big deal to some people. I think i’m starting to understand now.

I’m starting to learn some things about this prayer thing. I’m learning that its less about the outcome, and more about communion with God. Its about coming to the throne to spill our burdens, so that we’re not carrying them on our own. It’s coming to the Father and admitting we can’t do it on our own. It’s coming to the Creator of the Universe and desiring that He breaks us of ourselves and that he gives us the strength to follow his ways, even when we dont understand them. Its seeking the Comforter, knowing that He sees every tear that falls and that He alone knows exactly how we feel.

Its about full dependance on God. The way things should be. Its about reconciling our relationship with Him, tuning our hearts with his, fixing our eyes on him, lining up our footsteps with his…..and following obediently, as scary or hard or uncertain as that may be. Its not necessarily about seeing a certain outcome to a situation, but rather fully relying on him to guide us towards his perfect will and growing closer and closer to him. THAT is what prayer is about.

I am also realizing how much prayer binds Christians together. Its a common language. I’ve never held prayer at this level of importance. I’ll say “yeah, ill pray for you” and totally forget…i’ll admit it. But when i’m the one asking for prayer, I’m truly relying on others to go before the throne on my behalf. It’s like they’re carrying my burden with me. And that makes me feel part of One Body with them. All of us…on our knees…in front of Him…for a common purpose. Now thats community. I will definitely take it more seriously the next time someone asks me to pray for them.

This week I am learning to depend on God’s guidance in painfully real ways. But I also feel closer to God than I have in a while. I guess it makes sense when it says….

Matthew 5:3-4 “You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule. You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.”

Thanks for praying.

3 thoughts on “This prayer thing.

  1. Excellent post! You are a good writer; you express your feelings and ideas so clearly. I will continue to lift up your family in prayer.

  2. I’m glad you mentioned this thing about prayer. There seems to be so much talk about confidentially. The best thing to to go to God first. Too bad, I had to learn this one the hard way thanks.

Leave a Reply

