No Big Bang Effect.

As I suspected, not many people read my blog. (If you dont know what i’m talking about, see my previous post here). But I’ve come to accept that that’s okay.

This is my theory on blog traffic. I could easily try to come up with some great flashy tactics to get more people to come to my blog…create a blogroll, be proactive in commenting on other blogs, organizing my posts in to categories, have an interesting blog series, or the like. And I’m not saying that I wont ever do those things, because I probably will. But after reading the exerpt below, I have a different blog theory. And here it is: I don’t care what you think as far as what I should be posting about. Maybe I won’t ever have a huge blog fan-base. But that’s not a priority of mine. Truth is a priority, blog numbers are not. The world is full of beauty. I will chase it. Find it. Explore it. Share it. And that is what I find compelling.

If something inside you is real, we will probably find it interesting, and it will probably be universal. So you must risk placing real emotion at the center of your work. Write straight into the emotional center of things. Write toward vulnerability. Don’t worry about appearing sentimental. Worry about being unavailable; worry about being absent or fraudulent. Risk being unliked. Tell the truth as you understand it. If you’re a writer you have a moral obligation to do this. And it is a revolutionary act – – truth is always subversive.
–Anne Lamott in Bird By Bird

3 thoughts on “No Big Bang Effect.

  1. That’s what honesty is.. telling the truth and not caring what others think of you. And that is what makes your blog great — that honesty and vulnerability. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. absolutely! Thats whats makes your blog so great, you just put the truth out there and its what “we” need to hear!
    Thanks for commenting on my blog yesterday. As you can see I don’t have much of a following either, but thats ok…maybe someday!

Leave a Reply

