Hold up. Pause.

 

ist2_381039_pause_button.jpg

 

Good news. I FINALLY finished writing up the re-cap of my entire trip in my journal, so now begins the processing.

I started reading about one of the days at our small kids camp. As I was processing all that had happened, somehow I started thinking about all of the events that Westside’s student ministries has coming up in the few months ahead. There are so many things to do! One event after another! We are working on the next event before we’ve even had the first!

Then I remembered the few days I had to spend in Africa. See, the thing that was different about the events in Africa was that they came one at a time. We were able to savor every moment. We weren’t worried about what would happen the next day, or how this or that would get done later that night. We weren’t running at lightning speed, thinking about a million things every second. I was able to live in the moment. I was able to LOVE in the moment. I was able to deeply connect with kids, team members, and friends in the moment. Because if you’re not in the moment with someone, how can you really focus on loving them or getting to know them better? You cant. The only way you can develop a relationship is if you intentionally share a moment with someone.

So in the next month, one of the busiest times of my life, I hope to remember this: “HOLD UP. PAUSE.” Live in the moment.

Matthew 6:34 (MSG) — “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.”

One thought on “Hold up. Pause.

Leave a Reply

