gotta keep learnin’

I’m sitting here in Seattle’s Best Coffeehouse inside of my local Border’s Bookstore and I’m realizing how much of a desire I have to learn, and how seemingly little time I have to learn all of it at this time. I mean, seriously, I want to learn so much about so many different things…there’s just not enough time in the day, it seems.

So im sitting within hearing distance of this guy and girl (probably my age) who are deep into studying. Actually, she’s tutoring him in music. Its funny, because this is one thing that I want to learn, but have so often just said “oh, I cant learn that. Its impossible. I tried, I just don’t understand.” But this guy, man, he inspires me. I mean, he’s going through this beginners piano book (that I actually have from my beginning piano classes in college) and he’s asking his friend (or girlfriend?) “…so, there are lines and there are spaces?” and im thinking “yep, that’s right.” And he goes on to say “okay, so its bass clef or clep?” Again, im answering in my head. Ok..so I know a little more than this guy…but hey, not much. I am just amazed by his determination to learn this stuff. (and actually, I want to laugh, because he LOOKS like a musician with the “fedora” hat you see jazz musicians wearing, and the rest of his outfit is very much a musicians “vegabond” get-up as well.) But music…It seems like a completely different language to me, and if something doesn’t just come natural for me, I just want to give up. But I, too, have this huge desire to learn music. Even if I can’t play it right now, I just want to learn the language..the theory. I want to know WHY a certain note automatically turns a major chord to a minor chord, so on and so forth. (I can’t give a ton of examples, because really, I don’t know many. Haha.)

And then I just think about how music is only one of the many, many things that I want to learn! I want to learn more about discipleship, more about design, more about how to mix coffee, what makes some brands of fashion more desirable than others, where a woman’s place is in ministry, how to shoot incredible photography, how to write code and design web pages, how to communicate better, how the human mind works…how mental illnesses can affect people so much..and how to psychologically help those people. How walk people out of addictions, how to be a better friend, how to study the Bible better. I want to learn more about myself. And I want to learn more about God. And the list goes on and on. I want to learn so much…if only I had more than 24 hours in the day.

Well, the store is closing in 10 minutes…so im outta here…back to my room, where maybe ill be inspired to keep learning and reading and processing. Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “gotta keep learnin’

  1. I am so with you on this one!! I actually USED to play a couple instruments. Back in jr high I played the bass clarinet (which kind of resembles a saxophone) and then I played the viola. Ahhhh!! I loved it!!!!! I was also in choir in high school… It’s all such a beautiful form of art….so is photography! *sigh* I’m so with you on everything else too. There is SO much I wanna learn…sometimes I’m like Lord, teachhhh me please!! LOL 😀

    *huggies*

  2. HI,
    oh my back the brain up you dear sweet girl,there’s only 24 hrs. in a day,and just finish college, enjoy this last year,you have your whole young life to do what ever it is thats excites you .
    trust me what ever it is that will happen.

    LOVE & PRAYERS
    grams

    PS. go watch a sun rise, well ok a SUNSET

Leave a Reply

