From natural to necessary.

The life of God is not about an internship

The life of God is not about a career.

The life of God is not about a camp.

The life of God is not about a trip.

The life of God is about being Christlike in all that I do, everywhere I go, all the time. It is not about living a certain way for a certain amount of time, and then reverting to my own selfish ways the day I move to the next chapter of life. Ministry is not just what pastors do for a living, and its not just what I do on Sunday nights when I go to help at youth group. Ministry is about opening the door for the disabled, its about interceeding in prayer for those who are at their wits end and are too weak to pray themselves, its about the compliment I give to a friend, its about showing patience and dedication to the tasks set before me…no matter what those tasks may be, its about forgiving that person when they purposely hurt me, its about stepping in and helping those who are about to burn out, its about pointing others to Christ in everything i do in my life…big AND small. And it MOST DEFINITELY doesnt have to be apart of my job description to still be considered ministry. I want to point people to Christ with my LIFE, not with my JOB.

I know..this post has nothing to do with you. But thats okay…i needed to give myself a pep talk. I’m just really discouraged tonight about the fact that my internship ends tomorrow. But like I just said, the end of the internship does not mean the end of ministry or the end of a life for God. Amen to that.

I am encouraged by what Paul says in Philippians:

Philippians 1:6 “There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.”

Philippians 1:9-12 “So this is my prayer: that your love will flourish and that you will not only love much but well. Learn to love appropriately. You need to use your head and test your feelings so that your love is sincere and intelligent, not sentimental gush. Live a lover’s life, circumspect and exemplary, a life Jesus will be proud of: bountiful in fruits from the soul, making Jesus Christ attractive to all, getting everyone involved in the glory and praise of God.”

Like many of my friends have said tonight…this isnt the end, its just the very beginning. It’s not about opportunities that have ended, or a passion that will die out. No…i still have these opportunities, i still have this passion…and God will continue to stretch me and challenge me and grow me if I keep myself humble and fertile to the seeds He wants to plant in me.

The life of God doesnt end tomorrow….it is only beginning. God is calling me to be active in His mission for these kids! God is calling me to pursue my passions! God is calling me to run free from the captivity of fear and to live a bold and courageous life with His strength! And He is calling me to chase after Him harder and faster each day. The work that God has done in me has only STARTED…He will CONTINUE to work in me until the day that Christ comes. Thank God this isnt the end! 🙂

In the words of Dave Rhodes at Camp SURGE this year (maybe with a little of my tweaking) “The desire to cross the line into the life of God feels natural today, but tomorrow (when the feelings are gone) it will be NECESSARY.”

God, I’m coming after you. Whether the feelings are there or not, whether I’m in my prime position of work or not, whether I’m in my most favorite or least favorite season of life…I am stepping over that line into the life you have called me to. I know that you have your hands all over my future, and you’re telling me not to worry about what may or may not happen tomorrow, but to focus on the things you are doing right here, right now. Thank you for the opportunities that are opening up to me. I trust that you have instilled these passions in my heart for a reason, and whether or not these passions will line up with my job description, I know that you have called me to run after you and run after my passions no matter what my job title is. Thank you for this internship again this year, thanks for changing my life yet again. I pray that you continue to change my life, and that it wont just be a “summer thing.” Drown me in your Spirit. Flood my life like a raging river. Let me be a vessel that is ever overflowing with your Spirit. I wish there was a word stronger than love…because thats what I feel for you. You are all I need. You are my everything.

One thought on “From natural to necessary.

Leave a Reply

