Discipline

Yesterday I was so down…all day i just felt like i was on the verge of tears. I was so sad that school was over, and my friends were all moving home while i just stayed here on campus all summer. One of my best friends, Brittany, isnt coming back next year….so that brought even more gloomy emotions. It was all so bittersweet yesterday. Relief that i was finally done with another year of school, but feelings of loneliness, depression, and sadness as i knew it will be a long summer without a lot of my friends to keep me company. I just sat in my room staring at the wall because i just didnt even know what to do with myself. It was such a dark feeling. Thats when i decided i would just go to the gym and work out. Its funny how things work like that. Before i tried getting myself in shape, going to the gym would be the last thing i would do to brighten my mood. But yesterday, I just thought i’d work up those happies…you know, the endorphins or whatchamacallits. And what would you know, I did feel so much better after i worked out.

It got me thinking about the things God has in place for us to truly get all we can out of life. The disciplines that God calls us to follow…to exersize daily, to daily spend time with Him..the things that a lot of times we’d rather just cut out of our schedules, those are the things that truly help us live life to the fullest! Everyone knows that daily exersize produces a body that is healthy and in shape…and we just feel better in general. And the same goes with spiritual excersize..daily devotions, a healthy prayer life…God has put this into place not to waste 30 minutes of our day, not to just add another thing to our “to do” lists, but simply because he knows the more we spend time with Him, the better we know Him and the better we know how to live like Him.

I keep thinking about all of the disciplines in life that are set out for my good, not to add another hard task to my life. Purity, getting enough rest, prayer, devotions, good work ethic, eating healthy…the list goes on and on. I’m learning to be thankful for these, rather than to dread them. What are the disciplines that are best for your life?

Proverbs 10:17 “The road to life is a disciplined life; ignore correction and you’re lost for good.”

Leave a Reply

