Kill the Autopilot

Have you ever driven back from the local supermarket or coffee shop, parked your car at home, got out of the car and thought “I dont remember my drive back home…?” Autopilot. It really is a dangerous thing unless you are, of course, a pilot flying a plane. But how often are we on autopilot?

I find myself on autopilot a lot. Driving to and from Kansas City and home. You know…corn and pastures all look the same after a while. Or taking a shower…i mean, really…how much thought does it require to put a liquid into your hair. Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Even when I’m eating I’ll go on autopilot. Haha..you know what im talking about. Looking down thinking “Who ate all of my spaghetti!?!?…Surely i didnt finish it ALL. I’m positive i still had plenty left on my plate.” Autopilot. Bummer…didnt get to savor that last bite because i was zoned out. To tell you the truth, I go on autopilot a lot when i go to a traditional church service. Stand up, Sit Down, Stand Up, Sing 30 verses of Amazing Grace, Sit Down, Bow Your Head, Listen to the Choir Special, Pass the Offering Plate, Stand Up, Lift your Hand, Sit down, Stand Up, Shake Hands, Sit Down, and Completly Zone Out the Sermon. Possibly one last Stand Up, Sit Down at the end and out you go. Went to Church….Check. It really is something I need to work on. Maybe I’m the only one who battles the Autopilot syndrome, i dont know.

But the part of the Autopilot syndrome I’m really beginning to despise is the part that flips on when I open God’s Word. I mean, sometimes I get lucky and I’ll read something I dont remember reading before or I’ll read it in a new version…but usually, AutoZombie attacks before I finish the first verse.  “Jesus said “I am the way, the buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. John 14:6.” “For buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. John 3:16.” “For God did not give us buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz” 2 Timothy 1:7. But the worst one…the one that breaks my heart the most….is “”And there were in the same country shepherds abiding buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz peace, good will toward men.” The Christmas Story. The most amazing story of love and generosity and peace and joy….and i fastforward through it as if its a lame episode of Sesame Street. Currently I’m battling the AutoZombie while going through Mark. I just finished Matthew not that long ago, and I’m starting into Mark. Mark writes a lot different than Matthew did. He’s straight to the point, the facts are cut and dried. But none the less, the stories are going to have a different twist..there will be some new stories…and all together, another whole book holds deep truths about this man who who lived dead to Himself and died (and rose) to make us alive.

So I’m currently trying to devise a method to Kill the Autopilot. I would dare to say that there are a million more truths just waiting to be discovered like treasures if we just killed the autopilot and read this amazing book as if it were the first time…..a map to the treasure.

Any suggestions on Killing the Autopilot are more than welcome. Stories about your own AutoZombie experiences are also welcome. I love hearing from you guys……

Leave a Reply

