Because He's worthy.

I prayed that God would show Himself to me today. He did.

I got to chapel early today so i sat down and just opened my Bible. It happened to open to Job 13. So in the few minutes before chapel, I just sat and read a short part of Job’s life and the trials he faced. He in everything His faith remained in God. In the first part of verse 15, Job says “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him.” In the Message it says “Because even if he killed me, I’d keep on hoping.”   As I continued to read the account of Job’s life, I started thinking…”Is God worthy of my praise even if He allowed things to come my way that made me miserable for the remainder of my life??” Man, thats something you have to wrestle with. Or at least I did. The answer is yes!! He is worthy of our praise no matter what happens to us..i mean, obviously its not about us…but more than that, whether He allows trials to pervade the entirety of our lives, He is still worthy!! He is sooooo worthy, so worthy, so worthy. So anyways, I’m sitting there just chewing on this huge concept that God is forever worthy, no matter what happens in our lives or what happens around us, or even what happens in our world or universe!! Wow…so like i was saying, I was thinking about this as chapel started, and we had a great time of worship and our chaplain spoke on faith. He told a story about being offered a ride in an airplane where they were going to test the pilots skills. They would be pulling triggers intentionally to throw the pilot in dangerous situations, in order to see how they would respond. Well, being a guy, he said, he decided he would go on the flight. He had faith in those pilots that they wouldnt crash. But having faith in them isnt what made them good pilots. The same goes for God, he said. We dont trust God because of what he can do for us, but because he knows what he’s doing! Man…its odd how that tied right into what i was just reading. Crazy. And another thing he said…Our faith doesnt make God great!! So why have faith? Well first, because He created us and knows what he’s doing…AND because He’s worthy, AND because in Christ we see the world through a different light.

But i guess it just hit me hard…God can do ANYTHING, and He’s still worthy of our praise. Obviously its against the nature of God to be evil, but that doesnt stop him from allowing evil…and when He does, He’s still worthy. WOW. In Hebrews 11:39 it says that some of the people in the “Hall of Faith” were commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised!! wow. what faith. I want that kind of faith.

God is sooo much bigger than I will ever grasp..and i love it!! He’s outside of time, he’s outside of 3 dimensions. Wow….mind blowing. He’s so worthy of our praise.

Leave a Reply

