Oh Words.

Matthew 18:18-20

“Take this most seriously: A yes on earth is yes in heaven; a no on earth is no in heaven. What you say to one another is eternal . I mean this. When two of you get together on anything at all on earth and make a prayer of it, my Father in heaven goes into action. And when two or three of you are together because of me, you can be sure that I’ll be there.”

Wow, wow, wow. Eternal. Sometimes its hard for me to grasp the fact that we are currently and presently living in the eternal!! It doesnt start when we die, it started from the moment we were concieved! So is there a place in time where we can do anything at all and it will affect nothing at all? No!! What we do now, say now, think now…is all shaping and affecting the eternal!! Right here, right now!! Woah! I think about conversations. Words. The power of them. The concepts and ideas that lie under the surface. We clearly know what James tells us about words. Words are lethal! The tongue is like a sword! And more than just words, but what must entire concepts do to a person? If we are speaking and thinking of ungodly things, it is affecting the eternal!! Makes me view the simplest of all conversations and think, “In what way is this topic affecting the eternal?” What you say to one another is eternal. I mean this!!!! I want to live my life in a way that people will say “She makes me crave after the living God, when i am around her or talk to her, I catch a glimpse of God from an angle I’ve never explored before, her life has fueled my desire to dive into the presence of God.” I dont want to be a person that distorts the image of God, that alters the truth, that perverts true beauty into something it was never created to be, that causes people to stumble in their pursuit of Christ. The way I live now, things I think and discuss, the words i say to people are affecting the eternal! He means this!!

But lets not just focus on the dangers of that eternal power, but lets leash it into the form that God intends!! When we are passionately seeking after Him, when we unite with people and our spirits cry out to His Spirit, He goes into action!!! Yay!!! When two or three unite in the pursuit of God, He says He IS there with us!! Double Yay!! Lets never forget the power that God has given to those who are intimately and recklessly searching for His heartbeat.

Father, may i never forget that you are an active God. That you delight in the unity of your children, that you desire to see us in close, uplifting relationships that draw us closer to you. That you long to hear the cry of our hearts, because you can’t wait to go into action for us. Thank you for that amazing display of love. Let me never forget that what I do now affects the eternal. That every choice and thought and word and action will somehow play into the eternity of my soul. And as the Desperation Band sings..this too is my cry…”I will never stop chasing, I will never stop running after you. You are all I want… FOREVER .”

Leave a Reply

