Midnight Cravings.

So i had a bowl of cereal last night around midnight…cuz I had a craving. But as I pulled out the cereal box, i felt a deeper craving…a craving to be in God’s presence. I know, call me crazy…my hunger for God has turned into an infatuation, an obsession….I can’t get enough of God’s presence, and I can’t run fast enough down this road towards being like Christ. Midnight cravings. Crave means to long for; want greatly; desire eagerly. I guess that pretty much sums up how I feel about God. I can’t get enough. If I havent sat down to spend time with God, by the end of the day, I just long to feel His presence. It got to the point where I didnt want anything else. I didnt want to be on the internet, I didnt want to watch TV, I didnt want to read…I simply wanted to be in the presence of God.

So I went to my room and picked up where I left off…Matthew 12:38-45. All of it was great, but this one part really stood out to me… 

  43-45 “When a defiling evil spirit is expelled from someone, it drifts along through the desert looking for an oasis, some unsuspecting soul it can bedevil. When it doesn’t find anyone, it says, ‘I’ll go back to my old haunt.’ On return it finds the person spotlessly clean, but vacant. It then runs out and rounds up seven other spirits more evil than itself and they all move in, whooping it up. That person ends up far worse off than if he’d never gotten cleaned up in the first place.

   “That’s what this generation is like: You may think you have cleaned out the junk from your lives and gotten ready for God, but you weren’t hospitable to my kingdom message, and now all the devils are moving back in.”

It got me thinking. You know, its one thing to stop sinning…but thats not going to make us a better person. And its definitely not going to stop those temptations from coming back. But when we replace sin with God, that sin has no where to go…no place in our lives.

It makes me think about midnight cravings. Or maybe just cravings in general. It kinda goes with the concept of being hungry that I’ve talked about before. We’re going to be hungry…im not just talking about wanting a Big Mac…I’m talking about our lives. Our spirit knows when something is missing. Things just dont seem right. We’re hungry. But then we fill that hunger. The man Jesus was talking about in Matthew 12 was full of an evil spirit…but when it was cast out, it says he was vacant. He was empty. And when you’re empty, you become hungry. But the problem wasnt that he was empty, the problem was that He didnt fill that emptiness…so when the evil spirit came back (with seven of its evil friends), they already had a place to go. Makes me think about the importance of being full. About keeping ourselves so full of God’s spirit that evil has no where to go.

So i guess those cravings are a good thing…they’re a signal to let me know my tank isnt full, to let me know that I’m not satisfied with just the amount of God that I have, but that I want even MORE of God. I hope I always have those midnight cravings….I hope they never stop…I hope they remind me to stay continuously full. Because I can’t think of anything more enjoyable than being in the presence of God. 

Leave a Reply

